When God Does Ministry

Today at getAHEAD I was brought a seven year old girl who was refusing to participate in class time.

When I asked why she was upset, she refused to answer.

So I asked her more questions, sat with her, and tried everything I could think of to figure out what was wrong.

Finally, she spoke, “Our teacher said we had to write about our family.”

I asked why that upset her and she started to tell me. She said she lived with her grandma and her aunt. She said they were mean and they holler at her. She said she didn’t know where her dad was and she misses him. She cried.

We talked about the sadness of those things and then we talked about a God who wants her to be apart of His family. We talked about what His family is like and how God never leaves His family on their own.

After a few minutes, she reached for kleenexes to dry her tears and was ready to return to class.

That’s what I love about getAHEAD. Everyday we see ordinary things transformed into gospel opportunities. We mean for them to write in their journals. God means for them to hear about Him.

It’s a good reminder that it is Him, and not us, who is doing this ministry. We are just jars of clay. He is the Treasure.

Written by: Miriam Boone

Leave a comment

Filed under uncategorized

Leave a comment